Friday, 21 February 2014

Users blast LinkedIn for falsely implying that friends and colleagues have accounts

Users blast LinkedIn for falsely implying that friends and colleagues have accounts
Feb 21st 2014, 17:56, by Chris Welch


Nowadays, plenty of companies will — with permission — scan your contacts to find people you know already using their app or service. But LinkedIn may be taking things a step too far; users have complained about the company's "people you may know" section listing contacts who aren't even on the professional networking site. But you'd have no idea simply looking at the tool, which makes it seem as if they're active LinkedIn members, complete with an "add to network" button that's akin to a Facebook friend request. Instead of linking two existing accounts, though, hitting that button will dispatch an email asking your selected contact to create a LinkedIn account. Essentially, what you're sometimes seeing are non-existent ghost...
Continue reading…