Friday, 21 February 2014

Facebook will no longer change your privacy settings when you die

Facebook will no longer change your privacy settings when you die
Feb 21st 2014, 20:13, by Jacob Kastrenakes


Facebook will no longer limit who can view the accounts of its deceased members. Until now, Facebook would change the privacy settings on a deceased person's account — known as a "memorial account" — so that only their friends could view the page. But going forward, Facebook will leave privacy settings as the account's owner had set them, so anyone who could view their account while they were living will be able to view their memorial account as well. "We are respecting the choices a person made in life while giving their extended community of family and friends ongoing visibility to the same content they could always see," Facebook writes in a blog post.

Continue reading…